When the House voted to pass Trump’s tax bill

House Republicans on Thursday voted to approve a sweeping overhaul of the tax code that would slash taxes for millions of middle-class families, as they took a decisive step toward ending their first major legislative failure.

The House voted 235-205, with two GOP defections, to approve the House GOP tax bill, a sweeping rewrite of the nation’s tax code passed by Congress in the waning days of President Donald Trump’s presidency.

Democrats voted against the legislation, which the GOP is pushing through a House Rules Committee.

The measure will now move to the Senate, where it faces the same critical hurdle that the House faced earlier this month when it failed to pass a budget resolution.

Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell said in a statement that the tax bill passed by the House is now in the hands of the Senate.

“It’s clear from the vote that the American people understand the importance of reforming our nation’s system of taxes, and we will ensure that the final bill respects their wishes,” he said.

The tax bill will also include a provision that allows the president to reduce the corporate tax rate from 35 percent to 25 percent, though it will still be 20 percent.

Senate Democrats had objected to that measure as well.

Democrats on the House Ways and Means Committee voted to bring up the legislation on Wednesday.

House Speaker Paul Ryan said Thursday he expected to vote on the legislation in the coming days.

Senate Republicans have faced a slew of challenges this year, including an economic downturn and the death of their Senate leader.

Republicans had hoped to pass the bill with the support of Democrats, who were on record as opposed to the measure.

The legislation is now up for a vote in the House on Friday.